Special 2016 Copa America Centenario Trophy Revealed

CONMEBOL and CONCACAF revealed a special golden trophy for the 2016 Copa America Centenario earlier this week that is set to be awarded to the champion of this summer's tournament together with the original trophy. It's the first time that the champion of the Copa America will receive two trophies.

2016 Copa America Centenario Trophy

This is the special 2016 Copa America Centenario trophy.

The new 2016 Copa America Centenario trophy uses the silver silhouette of the original trophy as inspiration while interlinking gold curves to the classic Grecian urn to convey 100 years of soccer history in the Americas to respect the unique visual cues of the Copa America trophy in a modern way – Classical and Bold.

The trophy uses satin and glossy gold on the outside to highlight the significance of the "Centennial" anniversary, an engraved continental map of the Americas and is topped with the CONMEBOL and CONCACAF emblems. The inside of the trophy is polished in silver, paying homage to the original trophy and its 100-year legacy. Lastly, the trophy base displays the names of the 16 participating countries in an upward spiral format.

Original Copa America Trophy

The original Copa America trophy dates back to 1916.

The impressive silver Grecian urn was presented to CONMEBOL by Argentina's Foreign Relations Minister ahead of the inaugural tournament in 1916. Lifted many times by a number of different champions, the aging original trophy was replaced by an exact replica in 2011 and has since been lifted by Uruguay and Chile, respectively.

The Copa America Centenario trophy and the original trophy are making its way around the United States this summer.