Euro 2024 Football Kits
Get Now

No Allianz Arena and Signal Iduna Park: Official Names of Euro 2024 Stadium Revealed

UEFA have revealed the 10 stadiums that will be hosting the Euro 2024 which many football fans would be familiar with but there’s an interesting twist regarding the names. Although the stadiums that will be used for the tournament are widely known some of the names will be changed notably Borussia Dortmund’s Signal Iduna Park and Bayern Munich’s Allianz Arena.

UEFA Change Signal Iduna Park and Allianz Stadium Names for the Euro 2024

According to UEFA, for next year’s tournament, Dortmund’s Signal Iduna Park is called BVB Stadion Dortmund while Bayern’s Allianz Arena gets the name, Munich Football Arena. Those new names certainly sound odd and raise questions as to why the governing body needs to make any changes.

As reported by, the reason for UEFA to change the stadiums’ names is mostly related to sponsorship issues. Many of those grounds have a sponsorship deal attached to them, such as Signal Iduna for Dortmund and Allianz for Bayern. However, those two stadiums are not the only ones that receive new names for the Euro as there are also others.

FC Koln also have its ground name, RheinEnergie Stadion changed to Cologne Stadium, reverting to the city where the club reside in. Fortuna Düsseldorf’s Merkur Spiel-Arena turn into Düsseldorf Arena, Eintracht Frankfurt’s Deutsche Bank Park becomes Frankfurt Arena, Schalke 04’s Veltins-Arena is changed into Arena AufSchalke, RB Leipzig’s Red Bull Arena set to be called Leipzig Stadium, VfB Stuttgart’s Mercedez-Benz Arena turns to Stuttgart Arena.

The naming process was far from easy as there was some rejection regarding the early suggesting that UEFA proposed. That's why there's no consistency in the naming as some grounds are called Arena while others got the name Stadium or Stadion.

Meanwhile, the Stadiums that didn’t get new names for the tournament are Hamburg SV’s Volksparkstadion and Hertha Berlin’s Olympiastadion. Those two grounds didn’t have any naming rights attached to them so UEFA didn’t need any reason to make any changes.

The upcoming Euro 2024 will be Germany’s first major tournament to host since the World Cup 2006 which saw them finish in third place despite a successful work hosting it. Hansi Flick’s side will definitely hope that they won’t just be a great host but also managed to win the tournament for the fourth time in their history. Despite already lifting the Euro trophy three times, their latest victory happened back in 1996.

The upcoming Euro 2024 is scheduled to start on 14 June - 15 July next year, with the opening fixture set to start in Munich while the final will be staged in Berlin.

UEFA Euro 2024 Stadium Names - List

  • Olympiastadion: Hertha Berlin (Original Name)
  • Cologne Stadium: FC Koln (RheinEnergieStadion)
  • BVB Stadion Dortmund: Borussia Dortmund (Signal Iduna Park)
  • Düsseldorf Arena : Fortuna Düsseldorf (Merkur Spiel-Arena)
  • Frankfurt Arena: Eintracht Frankfurt (Deutsche Bank Park)
  • Arena AufSchalke : Schalke 04 (Veltins-Arena)
  • Volksparkstadion Hamburg: Hamburger SV (Original Name)
  • Leipzig Stadium: RB Leipzig (Red Bull Arena)
  • Munich Football Arena: Bayern Munich (Allianz Arena)
  • Stuttgart Arena: VfB Stuttgart (Mercedez-Benz Arena)

    Do you like the Stadium names for the UEFA Euro 2024? Share your comment below.