Chinese Champions Jiangsu FC Are Possibly History, Other Teams Change Names & Logos

Ahead of the 2021 season, the Chinese Football Association (CFA) has forced 58 teams with included sponsor names to change their names. Now reigning champions Jiangsu FC were thrown out of the Chinese Super League.

Jiangsu FC was known as Jiangsu Suning FC until early 2021. They are owned by struggling conglomerate Suning, who also own Inter Milan.

Other Chinese Teams Announce New Names

On Monday, the CFA officially announced the 16 teams approved for the 2021 CSL license. Jiangsu FC was not included. Instead, Cangzhou Mighty Lions, the only team relegated from CSL last season, have been given a reprieve and will play in the top flight this year.

So, while Jiangsu (Suning) FC will possibly not exist anymore in the future, other teams had to change their names and alter their logos.

In example, Tianjin Teda was renamed to "Tianjin Tigers". "Shijiazhuang Everbright" was renamed to "Cangzhou Mighty Lions F.C".

Interestingly, Nike just recently launched a new home kit for the now Jiangsu FC, a club which now possibly does not exist anymore.

6 Nike 2021 Chinese Super League Kits Released - Nike League-Wide Supplier

What do you think of Jiangsu FC being history? Comment below.