Nike Dominates FIFA FIFPro World XI 2020 Football Boots Battle

Today, FIFA announced the 2020 FIFA FIFPro 2020 World XI that consists of the 11 best players of this season, chosen by over 23,000 professional footballers from a total of 68 countries. We take a look at which brands dominate the boots battle for the best players in the world, in association with our Football Boot statistics website Football Boots DB.

FIFPRO, the World Player Union, invited professional male footballers worldwide to pick a team with 1 goalkeeper, 4 defenders, 3 midfielders and 3 forwards based on their performance during the 2019-2020 season. The players with most votes in their position were selected for the World 11.

FIFA FIFPro 2020 World XI - Which Brands Do They Wear?

8 players of the FIFA FIFPro 2020 World Line-Up are sponsored by Nike, while two are wearing Adidas football boots. There is no dominant silo but rather an even split of 3 Nike silos.

3 players (Kimmich, Lewandowski, Thiago) lace up in the Nike Phantom VNM, while 2 players wear Tiempo (Alisson, Virgil van Dijk) respectively Mercurial (Davies, Ronaldo). Copa (Sergio Ramos), Nemeziz (Lionel Messi), Magnetico (Trent Alexander-Arnold) and Phantom GT (Kevin de Bruyne) complement the list.

Sergio Ramos is the only player that is currently not sponsored by any brand since he regularly switches boots at the moment and wears blackout editions. Right now, Sergio Ramos is lacing up in a blackout version of the Adidas Copa 20.1 cleats from the Precision to Blur pack that still feature the striking orange outsole.

Sergio Ramos Debuts 'Blackout / Orange' Adidas Copa Boots - Nike History?

Alisson (Nike Tiempo Legend 8)

Trent Alexander-Arnold (UA Clone Magnetico Pro), Sergio Ramos (Copa 20.1), Virgil van Dijk (Nike Tiempo Legend 8), Alphonso Davies (Mercurial Superfly VII Elite)

Josua Kimmich (Phantom VNM), Thiago Alcántara (Phantom VNM), Kevin De Bruyne (Phantom GT Elite DF)

Lionel Messi (Nemeziz 19.1), Robert Lewandowski (Phantom VNM), Cristiano Ronaldo (Mercurial Superfly VII Elite)

The FIFA also awarded individual trophies, "two brands managed to win titles". Adidas (Manuel Neuer - Men's Goalkeeper of the Year, Sarah Bouhaddi - Women's Goalkeeper of the Year) and Nike (Robert Lewandowski - Men's Player of the Year, Lucy Bronze - Women's Player of the Year).

What do you think of the FIFA FIFPRO 2020 World XI? Drop us a line below, and check out all Football Boot statistics on Football Boots DB.